How to get married in Florida: Marriage Laws in the Sunshine State

How to get married in Florida
How to get married in Florida

Everything you need to know on how to get married in Florida.

First, you need to know about how to get married in Florida is knowing how to obtain a marriage license. A Florida marriage license is issued by a county court judge or a clerk of the circuit court under the judge's seal. Obtaining a marriage license is the first step in how to get married in Florida.

Obtaining a Florida marriage license

To get your marriage license in Florida, both parties will need photo Ids (driver licenses, state IDs or passports) as well as social security numbers. You will also pay a marriage license fee of $93.50 (if you complete a licensed Florida pre-marital course, the fee is discounted $32.50. Your marriage license is valid for 60 days.

Marriage blood tests are not required in Florida, but there is a 3-day waiting period after obtaining the marriage license before you can get married. The waiting period is waived if you've completed the pre-marital course. My advice: save time and money - take the pre-marital course.

Read more about Florida marriage laws and how to get married in Florida. You can also check out our FAQs section for more answers to our most frequently asked questions.

Who can perform marriages in Florida?

Only certain people can legally perform and officiate marriages in the state of Florida. These individuals include:

  • ordained ministers or elders in communion with a church or other ordained clergy
  • all judicial officers including judges
  • clerks of the circuit courts of Florida
  • Florida notary publics

How to get married in Florida

For more information, you can download this PDF about how to get married in Florida.

Get in touch...

Contact Yes, I Will Marry U! to learn more about our wedding officiant and other services today.  We look forward to working with you!